Flax in my bread

Normally I would think of flax only in the context of “linen”.

Flaxseed, as it turns out makes a tremendous sort of bread. Bread I can actually eat.  I really detest the “allergy” breads on the shelf at the store. That stuff is bullet proof. or something. yuck.

So, I did without any sandwich bread for almost a year-until I tried this.

It makes pita pockets, pizza crusts, sliceable buns in any shape you want. Mostly I like the thinner version, with a melted slice of Leerdammer cheese  on top, sometimes with ground mustard, sometimes not. Variety you know. Spice of life and all that.

Usually I double the recipe and make an assortment of “buns” and when they are just cooled, I put them in the freezer. If you take one out at breakfast time, it’s just thawed enough for lunch. Perfect.

I did try “cinnamon rolls” with the dough……and it was delicious. Eating them straight out of the oven is recommended, somehow it lost it’s appeal when cool. The dough needed to be rolled more thickly than I rolled it, but it did behave like a wheat dough otherwise.

 The bigger problem was that I am allergic to cinnamon. So next time, I’ll just have brown sugar rolls or something, maybe nutmeg?  Sure, just “try it this once”, “once can’t be a problem”, “you should try what you are allergic to after awhile”to “see” if you are still having a reaction……..”one bite can’t hurt you”……. um…..yeah…. we aren’t trying that strategy again. no.

It’s bad enough when the family starts in on the “but, just try it this one time” routine. From now on the answer is definately “no”  And when the DOCTORS  (for pete’s sake) start in on the “try things that the allergy testing shows that you are allergic to” – I just have to wonder about the sanity of that one. Yeah.. oh, okay and so when I am then down for the count for hours because I tried eggs again- what then? gimme a break. the answer is no.  and um. no.

Flaxseed Bread- 

  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp yeast
  • 1  C warm water
  • 1/4 C ground flax meal
  • 1 C rice and potato flour mix
  • 2 T oil
  • 2 T rice milk
  • 1 tsp vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 3/4 C potato starch
  • 3/4 C tapioca starch
Mix ingredients.
The dough is really thick,  let rise 1- 1 1/2 hours, or until doubled in a covered bowl. Punch down the dough and knead a few times. Seperate into small balls of dough and shape them into buns. Let rest for twenty minutes. Preheat the oven and the baking sheet for 10 minutes.
Bake at 500 for 12 minutes. Let cool on wire rack, covered by towel (keeps them from drying out in weird ways)

I wrap them individually and stack them in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

