Ridiculously delish

Chocolate? please. Who doesn’t love chocolate. These were delicious. I may be just saying that because I have no good cookie options now for over a year… but.. then again.. they were good.

When my favorite cookies of all time became off limits due to the oatmeal contained in them as the main ingredient…. I was lost. I made the original recipe at least twice a month. Ate them for breakfast even.

But now I have concocted a new and improved version that takes into account all that I can’t have and and tastes just like the other ones. Who knew that baked sunflower seeds and coconut flakes taste just like oatmeal. Huh? who? I want to see a show of hands!

What I did:

Boiled 1/2 cup brown sugar with 1/2 cup coconut milk in a saucepan until it was bubbling nicely, then added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 cup of peanut butter (Organic, MaraNatha brand).

poured that over a mix of:

  • 1 1/2 cups of cocoa krispies(GF Koala Krisps)
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy choc chips (Enjoy life)
  • 1/2 cup raw , unsalted sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

Stir it until just mixed and pour into a parchment paper lined 8 x 8 pan. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.

Let cool slightly. Here’s where the madness/genius starts. Makes them look like the old ones. hee hee.

Take a cookie scoop. (Mine is red) And scoop scooperfuls of the baked dough, which translates into about 1 1/2 tablespoon, onto either a parchment lined tray, or I just just used a clean dinner plate.

Let the “haystacks” sit there cooling for a bit, then cover and refrigerate them overnight- if you can wait that long. They are a cross between fudge and brownie and just plain yummy.

I am serious. These were way too good. Something must be wrong with them. Low(er) sugar than the original and no gluten? or dairy? I’ll take two, thank you.

Leave a Reply

