On Cherry Street

When I was a first grader… “On Cherry Street” was one of the readers that we went through to get to the second grade. It was a great book. Dick, Jane, Sally, Spot and Puff. Crazy adventures… ah, good times, good times. I have a copy of it somewhere… and I think that  “Mother” is making a pie in one of the pictures… well she is holding a pie anyway. Could have been another book…. could be my imagination… I don’t care. I just want a cherry pie.

So this is the recipe that is even better than the storybook.

It’s still a little bit too sweet for me, even after cutting down the sugar… could have been that the canned cherries that I used already had sugar in them…. hmmmm, next time I’ll probably add in a chopped apple into this mix before adding the topping to bulk up the fruit and cut the sugar. It was still good this way too.

  • 1 can cherries
  • ¼ C sugar
  • ½ C water
  • 2 T potato starch

Mix and microwave for 5 minutes, stir once in awhile until thick.

 

Pour into tart pans.

 

Topping:

  • 3 T palm shortening
  • ¼ C brown sugar
  • ¼ C brown rice flour
  • ¼ C white rice flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp vanilla

 

Mix well with a fork. Crumble on top of cherry filling.

Bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes or until browned.

Leave a Reply

