Pancake City, Arizona

Oh yeah! No more Bisquik? WHO CARES!!! This batch of pancakes was the best everrrrrrrrr. Wheat or no wheat. Hands down. And you can trust me on that one because I have won actual awards for my wheat products people. Actual awards. Now that I can’t have the wheat (or the Bisquik for that matter)  the pancakes around here have been pretty sad, and wierdly chewy.

But this is a recipe you can write home about. I doubled the recipe and put most of them in the freezer for quick breakfasts and snacks. I heart the freezer.

Pancakes

  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 2 T softened coconut oil
  • 2 T safflower oil
  • 1 egg replacement (= 1 T ground flax meal + 3 T HOT water)
  • 3/4  C brown rice flour
  • 1/2 C potato starch (or 1/4 potato and 1/4 arrowroot)
  • 1/4 C tapioca starch
  • 1/4 tsp soda
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1  1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 C rice milk + 1 tsp vinegar = “buttermilk”
  • 1/2 coconut milk

Mix on high speed for one minute after incorporating all ingredients on a slower speed. Refrigerating the batter before cooking works well.

yummy.

Comments are closed.