Tiny Crockpot Stew

**Update** I now call this recipe ” BOK Chicken ”  **

I got a small crockpot for Christmas and none of my usual recipes fit into it, and I am really not sure what to do with it, because I am so used to making gigantic amounts of soup at a time so that we have leftovers to go into the freezer, or whatever.

So I had to think small in order to use the tiny crockpot today. I made up a recipe that seems “so far- so good”. I took ideas from several other recipes and combined them. Oh all right, I had a bunch of weird leftovers, and dumped them in. There, are you happy now? HAHAHA

What’s in there so far:

  • 2 chicken thighs, browned in 1 T safflower oil
  • 2 C chicken stock
  • 1 C coconut milk
  • 1 vegan bullion soup cube
  • 1/2 small onion chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, smashed and mined
  • 5 baby bok choy
  • 1 zucchini, peeled and cubed
  • 2 tsp italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp red curry paste
  • 1/2 large carrot – peeled and grated

…the plan at this point is to let it sit there on the counter, set on high for 4 hours and then thicken the soup with potato starch and serve it over rice. Depending on how much the chicken breaks down, I may shred that up a little too.

So, it’s not “soup” and not really “stew” either.. ..I am not sure yet what to call it. I just hope it’s good. It smells good. So that must be a good sign.

And at this point I added a cup of thick potato soup leftover from the other night.

I think it still might need some salt.

Leave a Reply

