Real Bread, people! REAL ACTUAL BREAD

I love the sandwich buns I make with the wonder dough recipe, and the pizza crust, and I like the flax seed flat bread too… but this is a moment.. seriously. .. to think about SLICED BREAD.

I don’t think there is a mountaintop close enough for me to scream off of… but we have achieved

sliceable/ “REAL BREAD” / PEOPLE!

It baked in a loaf pan just like it knew what it was doing. OMG. and my family said: “it looks like bread.”

Sure it does. Finally.  If you have sunk so low as to actually LIKE the bricks of the substance they claim to be bread on the gluten-free shelf at the store, then do I have a wake up call for you. I am sorry, but having to pay $6 + for a loaf of bread that has to be toasted to be edible, and smells like a wet dog when toasted? yeah. I vote no. And why would I want a shelf life of 4 years on my bread? eew.

Buy a loaf pan. Bake it yourself.  Really.bread-bread-bread1loaf of breadSlice and freeze it once a week would give you sandwiches and whatever, when you wanted it. I made grilled cheese sandwiches for the first time in THREE  years. Yes I am a happy camper.

I am doing a cost analysis on this recipe.  It’s not  completely done, but it’s close to $2.50. Same as the wheat bread that I used to buy off the shelf.  My budget loves me again.

Bread is life

  • 1 T yeast
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1 C warm water
  • 1/2 C warm hemp milk
  • 4 T oil
  • 1 tsp vinegar

Mix the yeast, sugar and water together, add oil and vinegar and all the dry ingredients.

  • 3/4 C brown rice flour
  • 2 T ground flax meal (gives it that “wheat” look)
  • 1 1/4 C potato starch
  • 1/2 C millet flour
  • 2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg (replaced with flax meal + HOT water)

 Mix well. Pour batter into well oiled and floured (rice flour)  loaf pan. let rise for 20 minutes. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes.

When completely cooled….. slice and freeze.

***UPDATE***

I tested the “leave it out on the counter” theory.. and I am less than impressed. It seemed dry even though it had spent it’s very short life in a sandwich bag. And, although zapping the slice back to life in the microwave for 8 seconds did seem to revive it, I still recommend slicing the bread and keeping what you might use for a day or two in the refrigerator. Ziplock bags work great for this. But freezing the slices  for bread on demand is even better.

Leave a Reply

