Post # 100 – Woo! Hoo! …and Cabbage Nets explained

Okay. Yeah. 100 posts? No – way!  Yep… this one is #100. hooray! : )

When I started this, about a year ago… I didn’t think I had anything to say. HAHAHAHAHA… now I feel like I am just getting started.

Stay tuned.

And thanks for stopping in at our favorite blog: Cabbage Nets.

Oh! wait. I promised I would explain “Cabbage Nets” , so….. anyway……

I have been researching historic knitting, and historic food practices, historic cooking techniques and methods, most specifically in the 18th century, for more than seven years.  When I found a reference to a knit “cabbage net”, I read it twice. A what? After searching  more to find out what the heck it was, I made several and tested them. I recommend them.

A cabbage net was a mesh, often knitted, bag used for cooking food. The inside was lined with overlapping cabbage leaves, and meat and other vegetables were added to the bag. This “cabbage net” was then lowered into a larger pot of water or broth to simmer. When you take your cabbage net out of the larger pot, it drains nicely, and you are left with a lovely cooked dinner. One reference that I found mentions that you should plan on having several cabbage nets with you when you sail to America in the 19th century. The ships would supply one, or two large cooking pots, so when you put your dinner in the pot to cook, you could claim it back with your net. Fabulous.

I have actually tried this on several occasions while “in the 18th century”, and can assure you that food cooked this way is delicious. Your mileage may vary.

Cabbage nets were also used to snare rabbits in the gardens of one reference I have found.  I can imagine other uses for a cabbage net, but I have yet to document them. If you see a reference, please let me know. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

