Jam Pockets

Who doesn’t love Mardi Gras? Well. It’s over, for this year anyway…but I found a new treat. It mimics the jam filled donuts that I loved when I could still eat wheat, eggs, cream and butter things, fried in oil. … yadda yadda.

These are better. Really. I promise. And baked, not fried… sweet dough.

jamma-0051

I added  raspberry jam to each “pocket”  that I made with a dumpling folder I found at an asian market. (They also sell the dumpling folders in several sizes on Amazon.com)

I made the dough with:

  • one recipe of wonder dough, and added……
  • 1 T gluten free vanilla (found at Costco)
  • 3 T granulated sugar

Mix dough. Pat out a golf ball sized bit of dough into a flattened circle. Set that on the dumpling folder. Spoon in a teaspoon of jam. Fold it to press the edges. You could also just do this with a fork.

Bake for 20 minutes at 400.

Roll each Jam Pocket in powdered sugar, (I use Trader Joe’s powdered sugar with tapioca starch- most other brands use corn starch)  and let cool on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

