Chicken Enchiladas

Oh. my. goodness. Will wonders never cease. Easy food? and Gluten free on top of it? YAY!

Take out -schmake out. I can make my own. This all started when I was shopping the gigantor store with everything all pre-assembled and ready to cook. It looked good. The price was in the “okay, maybe I will splurge a little bit” category, and then I read the ingredients. WHEAT…and more wheat. Why? I don’t know. But I wanted it and it was toxic… so back to my kitchen! to make my own version. More work? maybe a little, but not really all that hard. Just as delicious? Probably better!

Chicken Enchiladas

  • 2 lbs. cooked chicken, shredded
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 1/4 C gluten free pantry all-purpose gluten free flour blend
  • 1 T safflower oil
  • 1 box Pacific brand gluten free chicken broth
  • 2 cans medium heat enchilada sauce Old Elpaso Brand
  • 1 can chopped green chiles
  • 1 package corn tortillas – (I cut mine into 1/4ths to layer in the oval crockpot more easily)
  • 1 can red beans
  • 2 lbs shredded mozzerella cheese

Start with the oil in the pan, heat the onion until warmed through, add the broth mixed with the flour to make a thin gravy. Add the chiles and the canned enchilada sauce.

Then the fun begins! Layer in the crockpot, sauce, tortillas, cheese, chicken, tortillas,beans, sauce, cheese, etc until you have either filled the crockpot or run outta stuff to put in there. Turns out it doesn’t matter. It will still be delicious.

Plug in the crockpot,(this is important) and turn it on (turns out, this is important as well- don’t ask me how I know this).. low for 6 hours to let it all melt together, and then leave the house. Go to Target and look around. Go for a bike ride, go for a walk- whatever.

When you return from your deserved outing you will have a delicious thing to serve for supper. I like mine with a side of salad. Some rice would also be delicious.

Comments are closed.