GORP

Before I knew anything *at all* about Celiac, I liked GORP as a fast and tasty snack. Easy to mix up, fun to find in my lunch. Easy to keep a small container of it in my purse, easy to take on camping trips. Kinda all purpose snackable. And one serving of it actually has a big dose of protein. Some sugar too… so don’t go crazy, but I was surprised at the protien amount.

It is amazing to me how I had somehow negotiated my way to a general menu that really was pretty well free of gluten before I had to go gluten free. It was just a few things that I had to either give up (beer) or find new substitutes (pretzels).

My advice to new celiacs, besides “don’t cheat”, is to figure out what you are ALREADY eating that is gluten free, then find new stuff to fill in the other areas of the menu. It is soooooo much easier now to find acceptable food in regular grocery stores than it was even a few years ago. Online ordering rocks when you can’t find it anywhere near you.

Stick to the meat and veggies and you really can’t go wrong. Until you need a snack. This is where the gorp comes in. *GORP=Good-Old-Raisins-and Peanuts*-mmmmm                   Stock up.

*GORP*

This is the ratio that I use, the bag of M&M’s in the picture is larger… please note.

  • 1 – 19 oz bag of plain M & M’s “large”
  • 1 – 16 oz can of salted Planter’s peanuts
  • 1 – 15 oz box of golden raisins

Mix. Pack. Snack.

Oh my.

Comments are closed.