Sloppy Joes

The weather is turning cooler, and I need “Winter” food.. comfort food. And who doesn’t love Sloppy Joes? MMMmmmm.

The “Joe” part I can do with no problem and make it gluten free all day long, but the buns were a problem.

No more! YAY! I used the “naan” dough project recipe and fashioned some buns using the ridiculously sticky dough and some potato starch.

I just scooped a large spatula full of the ridiculously sticky dough and plopped it into a container/bowl that had about a 1/4 cup of  potato starch in it. Then patted the thing into a bun shaped, sorta roundish, and about a half an inch thick, and set it on parchment paper to rise for 45 minutes.

Baked them at 350 for 15 minutes.

Buns!  and Sloppy Joe mix! Bring it on- Winter!

=====

Sloppy Joes = 1 lb hamburger

1 cup tomato paste

2 C water

spice mix/sugar/salt

=====

These buns are going to make my life a lot easier, and yummier. The current thickness of the baked bun is too thick, I need to make them thinner before they rise, for what I want, I guess. The dough does not spread, but does puff up.

Comments are closed.