Chocolate Sugar Cookies

I bought some gluten free cookies in a box (off the shelf)  (at the real grocery store!!) the other day thinking that I deserved a treat. Well, they were expensive and didn’t taste very good at all. So much for that idea.

This recipe is delicious, and looks the same. (HA!)  The only drawback is that I have to plan ahead and bake them myself. Oh well. Since when is eating gluten-free easy?

There are tricks to getting what I want, when I want it though. I speed up the process of GF baking, by pre-measuring the dry ingredients of various recipes that I know I like and will use again, into canning jars and storing them in the pantry for quick pancakes, waffles and favorite cookies especially.

Once everything is added, I make a  list on the jar (with a sharpie marker) of the other things needed to make the recipe.  I also include the baking temperature for fun (don’t ask how I know to do this). Someday I will make printed labels. Yeah, I should do that.

Chocolate Sugar Cookies

Mix the dry ingredients:

  • 1 C powdered sugar
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/2 C cocoa powder
  • 1/2 C sweet rice flour
  • 1 1/4 C brown rice flour
  • 1/2 C potato starch
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 T xanthan gum
  • 2 1/4 tsp baking powder

Add the wet ingredients:

  • 1/2 C organic palm shortening- softened
  • 1 T GF vanilla (found at Costco)
  • 1.5 T golden flax meal + 4 T hot water = 1.5 eggs
  • – some amount of filtered water to make the dough pliable – I used about 2 T … your mileage may vary. Add just enough to make the dough stick together, but not so wet and sticky that it’s impossible to deal with.

Make small balls of dough, and roll in granulated sugar. Flatten them out on a cookie sheet that is covered with parchment paper. They do puff up, but don’t spread out, so you can crowd them on the pan pretty well.

Bake at 325 for 10 minutes

Other: Adding mini chocolate chips is also delicious, and swirling melted chocolate over the top of these makes them pretty fancy too.

 

 

Comments are closed.