Read.The.Ingredient.List.Twice.

I poisoned my child. It was bound to happen. But I wasn’t expecting something so delicious to be so sinister.

Read. The. Labels. Check them twice, and even then, be suspicious. Gluten is evil. It lurks, it hides and when you least expect it… BAM!

There is a recipe from “the old days” called a 7 layer bar. The one layer we have never added was the walnut layer, so that has always been out, and even though we only had 6 layers we still called them “7 layer bars”.

Anyway… last week I found some gluten free graham cracker crumbs IN A BOX AT THE STORE!!!…and there was much rejoicing, as layer 2 is graham cracker crumbs.. and we can’t have those. I have attempted to make gluten free graham crackers before.. but finding them already to go, at the store? nice. Having to make a recipe, before you make a recipe is not the most fun.

So, we tossed in the layers one, two and three (chocolate chips) and gleefully sprinkled on the butterscotch chips and continued with layers (if you are still counting) five and six. Baked it all up!, cut into bars! and enjoyed. Wow, they were just like I remembered! all yummy and coconutty and chippy. Who doesn’t like a solid square of melty sugar covered in coconut? really.

And then the nasty headaches started. uh oh., and the digestive upset. yikes!, and then the heartburn and the continuing long list of weird gluten poisoning reactions that we get – including the itchy ears (which I really hate enough to keep me from ever cheating on this gluten free diet).

Where I went wrong: I had been so careful to see the gluten free on the box of graham cracker crumbs, that I missed the small print on the butterscotch chips. Yep. Artificial flavoring (includes barley malt). Says so right on the label.

Drat.

Hopefully we can replace the (stupid, evil, poisonous) butterscotch chips with something just as yummy but safe.

Gluten free means = no wheat, no barley, no oats and no rye.

Read. the. label.

Comments are closed.