Eat Your Donuts

Eat your vegetables! … or donuts. Whatever.

My daughter had no idea that there were veggies in her baked goods. Ha!

I have been making this particular recipe for YEARS.  And today, I blew it while we were at the grocery store wandering around in the veggie department. I mentioned that we needed to also get (and I quote) “some zucchini for the donuts”.

What a dumb thing to say outloud. She gave me  “the look” of disbelief and said (rather loudly) (in public): “YOU PUT VEGGIES IN MY BAKED GOODS”???

Well. Yes. Yes I do. And in my defense, you are healthy and up to this very minute you didn’t know the difference.

I win. 

Chocolate Zucchini Donuts

  • 1/2  C oil
  • 1 1/2 C sugar
  • 2 C shredded zucchini
  • 2 C gluten free flour (I used 1 1/4 C brown rice flour and 3/4 C potato starch)
  • 1/2 C cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 1/2 tsp soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs (I replace eggs with flax meal gel)
Mix. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes, in mini donut pans.
yum
Leave a Reply

