Pot Roast

I am a crockpot user. It’s true. Really. I love that I can add all sorts of stuff to the pan, cover and walk away. All day. I got stuff to do. Really. Not everyone is in favor of crockpot usage. I hope that changes around here. It’s delicious. Eat it. Who cares (!) how I cooked it. Eat.

Besides, it’s going to snow and we have a tradition around here of making a pot roast dinner to eat after sledding all day. It is highly unlikely that today’s snow will even accumulate… but that it not the point. Snow=pot roast around here.

The last roast that I purchase was from Whole Foods, and it was 100% better than the one I usually get from the generic grocery store down the street. So we have a trend going here.. grass fed roast beast is tastier. Today’s experiment is a roast from a co-op that I am trying out for my summer vegetable source.  They get points for also offering grass fed meats AND points for continuing to deliver over the Winter.

Crockpot Roast Beast

  • 3 lb rump roast
  • 1 onion, chunked and sliced
  • 4 pieces of garlic, minced
  • 1 cup beef broth (made today with hot water and OX brand beef broth flavor packet)
  • 1/4 C salsa
  • 2 T Honey mustard sauce  smeared on the roast (- this is an experiment you might want to ignore this part)
  • 1 T  Montreal steak seasoning

Place all in crockpot. Turn on crockpot. Walk away. Come back when it’s done. In the meantime, watch the snow fall and drink some hot chocolate in celebration of WINTER.

Leave a Reply

