Maple Bars. Oh My.

The one remaining thing on my list of “foods-I-must-have-to-survive” is Maple Bars. They loom in the fog as the one thing I want and can’t have. Eating gluten free is not always easy, or fun. I can’t go to the bakery and pick up a dozen doughnuts. Boo. At least not in my neighborhood. So make them myself, I must. It’s really not an option, and now I MUST HAVE MAPLE BARS.

My fondness for maple bars is legendary. That I was getting sick from them? some sort of bad joke, or maybe it’s just a challenge from the universe to get it right. I don’t know, I just need some baked goods. Talk about comfort foods! Move over Mac n’ Cheese.

So. Today, I am converting a recipe for “regular” maple bars into something hopefully edible and anywhere close to the right taste and texture. I am on a quest!

The title “Maple Bars” is something of a suggestion really, because it comes to my attention that not all regions of the country call them that. In Oregon they are called Maple Bars, in Minnesota the title is “Long John’s”… …. ….. are they named for the long rectangular shape of the product? or the underwear? I don’t know. They do things differently in Minnesota sometimes. It’s probably better not to ask. If you are still unclear as to what this thing is.. it’s an unfilled eclair. Frosted with maple flavored glaze…. or chocolate frosting… that’s pretty tasty too.

Maple Bars

  • 5 C of gluten free flour. (I used 1 whole box (2C) of GlutenFreePantry all purpose flour and in addition, 1 C potato starch, 2 C brown rice flour)
  • 1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  •  1/2 C warm milk (I used GF rice milk)
  •  4 T sugar
  •  2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 C warm water
  • 4 1/2 tsp yeast
  • 2 eggs (I replaced these with “flax eggs”)
  •  1/3 C shortening

Mix together the yeast and warm water. Stir the warmed milk, sugar and yeast mixture together. Add the other ingredients. Mix and knead the dough for 5 minutes. Place dough in greased bowl for an hour to let rise.

Turn dough out on lightly floured board, press out to 1 inch thickness. Cut into bars. Place them on baking sheet and let rise for another 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 350. Bake 10 minutes. Let cool on wire racks.

Glaze with maple frosting. Or chocolate.

Maple frosting

  •  1 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 milk (GF rice milk)

Mix and boil for 2 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes, add:

  •   1  C powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp maple flavoring

Mix well. Frost the tops of the baked goods while the frosting is still warm. Once it cools off it hardens quickly.

******Update:   These baked up more like a scone than a fried donut (the original).. but since it’s a baked scone-like item… I guess it’s all good.  They TASTE great.. they  do not look the same though. Whatever. Tasty is tasty.

 

Leave a Reply

