Sourdough Experiments

I started some sourdough the other day and while I was waiting for it to percolate and do it’s thing for 3 days… I started looking for recipes to turn it into something “real”. I am thinking maybe some pancakes, or bread , or something.

If you have been gluten-free for more than about 2 hours, then you know the bread problem. Sure, there are some store bought options, but the real truth of it is that many of those options are just gross. Or they have too much sugar, or weird flour blends that I can’t have. What I want, is what I used to have: home baked, fresh sourdough bread. Really, is that too much to ask? Yeah, for gluten-free, it probably is.

Having to toss out a decades old sourdough starter when I realized it was full of poison (gluten) ..was like saying goodbye to a family member. So sad. It took me years to restart a new tub of sourdough. The first attempt was gross, and I moved on by just making other kinds of bread, buying some from the store freezer,  and mostly doing without. But last week, I decided to try once more and I am so glad I did. I know what I did wrong last time.. and this attempt seems successful so far.

Real Bread. It’s yummy. bread

 

Leave a Reply

