Alright, Alright! Cinnamon Rolls…

cin5The season is changing from summer to autumn… and with all the leaves falling in the yard, I am longing for savory breads and toasty things from the oven.

Today I experimented with sourdough-cinnamon rolls. Okay.. yes please! am I right? Seriously. Yum.

I have never had a cinnamon roll made with sourdough before… seems like I would remember that. And I have never seen a recipe for them either, and I read a LOT of cookbooks… so I modified my favorite recipe to use the sourdough sauce on my counter. Yep, it’s still going strong after weeks of experiments. I wonder how long I can keep it going? Some of the “tips and tricks about sourdough” that I have read, suggested that you can keep in the refrigerator. Eh. The short answer is yes, yes you can. But mine works better if it lives on the kitchen counter, where it can be a constant temperature.

Sourdough Cinnamon Rolls

  • 1 Cup sourdough batter
  • 1/2 C rice syrup (which I used in place of honey)
  • 2 “eggs” (I used “flax eggs”)
  • 1/4 coconut/hemp/rice milk
  • 1/2 Cups oil
  • 1/2 Cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 Cup tapioca flour
  • 1 3/4 Cups potato starch
  • 1 Tblspoon dry yeast
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tblspoon pixie dust xanthan gum

Mixed in the Kitchenaid mixer for about two minutes until well mixed.

Spoon out onto a well dusted waxed paper rectangle.

cin1

 

Then, spread with melted butter (about 3 Tablespoons) an

d sprinkle with

  • 2/3 Cups brown sugar mixed with 1 tsp cinnamon cin2

Using the waxed paper to help pick up and roll the dough, roll into a log. Cut 1 1/2 inch rolls and place cut side up spiralscin3in well greased 9×13 pan. Let rise 30-45 minutes.

cin4

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutescin6

Drizzle with vanilla glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 Tblspoon butter
  • 2 Tblspoon coconut/hemp/rice milk

 

Leave a Reply

